Banana bread, Hummingbird-style

20130411-001356.jpg

When I first tasted this banana loaf the day I baked it, I must admit I wasn’t overly impressed. My usual banana bread recipe contains chocolate chips and mixed spice, where this one is a bit plainer, with no chocolate and only cinammon and dried ginger to flavour it. I missed the depth of flavour from the mixed spice and though the ginger was an interesting twist, it tasted too one-dimensional. The next day, however, it was better and by the third day, even better. So definitely one of those recipes where you want to wrap it up and leave it to sit a day or two before tasting.

Did I mess with the recipe? Yes. It calls for 200g of mashed banana – I had 4 small bananas that came to about 330g, but I chucked them all in. I did have to let it bake about 10 minutes over the recommended hour, but apart from that it didn’t cause any problems.

I think this was actually the first recipe I tried from the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook, not counting the buttercream icing. I’ve a tendency to read my cookbooks for inspiration, discover I’m missing vital ingredients and then look up an alternative online to use instead. Based on the success of the banana loaf, I’ll be trying more soon.

This entry was posted in Cakes and baking, Food, glorious food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

